Panel 45W Line 48

This is a memorial for Gregory Lee Bomberry.
There is a factual error — Greg didn’t have any Irish ancestry. It can’t be corrected in the text below because these are pictures of pages. I need to go back and re-do the whole project in a different format. Anyway, sorry.

Untitled-1Untitled-2aUntitled-2bUntitled-3aUntitled-3bUntitled-4aUntitled-4bUntitled-5aUntitled-5bUntitled-6aUntitled-6bUntitled-7aUntitled-7bUntitled-8aUntitled-8bUntitled-9aUntitled-9bUntitled-10aUntitled-10bUntitled-11aUntitled-11bUntitled-12aUntitled-12bUntitled-13aUntitled-13bUntitled-14aUntitled-14bUntitled-15aUntitled-15b

Greg New

About Pat Hartman

Before publishing the two books "Call Someplace Paradise" and "Ghost Town: A Venice California Life", my main project was "Salon: A Journal of Aesthetics. " I wrote extensively for "Scene," a monthly arts and entertainment magazine with a circulation of 25,000. Also proofread, sold ads, put together the music calendar and, for a couple of years, served as editor. Presided over a couple issues of the local NORML newsletter, as well as being featured speaker at chapter meetings. Wrote a complete screenplay; collaborated on another one; worked on a couple of scripts (additional dialog and general brainstorming) with an indie film producer. Booked the talent for a large music festival. Wrote, designed, illustrated and produced various catalogs and brochures for small businesses. Spoke at a high school as a panelist on Women in the Professions; was a featured speaker at the 1991 Women in Libertarianism Conference; presented public programs on "Success in One Lesson" and "The Bloomsbury Group: What's It To Us?" Created the website VirtualVenice.info and wrote many politically-oriented pieces for Earthblog.net
This entry was posted in Abominations, Heroes, war and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Panel 45W Line 48

  1. Oh Ms. Hartman,

    You sure do know how to make a grown man cry and touch the heartstrings of men and women alike. This was so hard to read because I knew from the beginning how it would end. It is so much more poignant when one uses an individual as an example, a metaphor, for those terrible times. And I learned more about you as a person in the process.

    I have a feeling Greg and I would have been friends, and now I know I will be forever denied that friendship. But through your words (and I bet your tears,) Greg lives on. I know he thanks you for this, as do I.

    Phil

  2. Debby says:

    Pat…so very moving and thought provoking. You have fleshed out the soul of our youth and exposed an important, but wishfully forgotten, occurence of events that shaped our lives forever. We were so young. How many “Gregs” rest in our hearts? Thank you for your words….debby

  3. Debby says:

    Worth reading again…makes my Memorial Day mean more. Thanks Pat!

  4. That was so beautiful.

  5. Subonna Morgan MacKenzie says:

    Greg was one of “us” in the neighborhood. There were probably about 25 of us ranging from 15 to 18 years of age who hung around together almost every day. Jeans and motorcyle jackets were worn because they were the cheapest clothes a guy could get and vocations were sought at Trott because college was too expensive for families not because of intelligence. I knew a lot of very intelligent kids that went to Trott and I don’t believe that anyone in our neighborhood thought any less of them than if they had gone to an expensive university. Everyone knew it was a difficult thing to accomplish for hard working middle class families because they all had more than one child to consider. Greg did smoke, as did most of the people in our group. It was something that was done by most in that era and was learned at home long before they hit the streets.
    I remember Greg ,and a couple of other guys in our group, chasing away a guy trying to get us to buy some joints he had in his possession. Gregg stepped right up and told him to leave and the other guys backed him up. None of us would do anything to hurt our friends and wouldn’t want any harm to come to any of them. Gregg was one of about 5 members of our group who were members of the Six Nations, as well, Puerto Rican, Mexican, Black and Anglo. One was called “Chief”, but it was not Greg. Another was called “Geronimo” being his real name. Another was called “Little Red”. We all had nicknames given by members of our group, but they were names that developed over time by incidents or comments that had been made at one time or another. Nationalities were just something somebody else had placed on us and had no bearing on how we felt about each other. We weren’t organized and had no desire to be.
    Greg was a great person and is missed. God be with him and his family.

  6. Pat Hartman says:

    Thanks for responding!

  7. Cris says:

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart so much for making this and sharing!!! Greg was my cousin that I never knew. I took our auntie Wilma to see the Travelling Wall when it was at Six Nations a while back and she told me stories. Greg’s father Harry was my dad, Joseph Bomberry’s older brother, and Wilma (Powless) is their sister. My name is Crystal Bomberry. Who are you and are we related? I do not know any of my late Uncle’s family. I googled Greg’s name today bcuz I found out the wall was going to be in Eden & North Collins, July 18th 2012.

  8. p.s. ok i managed to read all (busy day, i had just skimmed thru) Thanx again for making this, you are indeed a wonderful person. I hope to hear from you. I was born a year after Greg’s passing, grew up on Six Nations. I was told his father Harry was murdered in Niagara Falls. Greg is full native, no Irish, the Irish is his step father. We are registered Onondaga Nation (the govenment made our ppl register under the fathers nation..this is Greg & I’s fathers&grandfathers. registered nation…..traditionally I am Mohawk as we follow the mothers lineage, I do not know what Greg would have been traditionally) Tuscarora is also one of the Six Nations, and his mother may have been this or originally from the Tuscarora reservation near Lewiston NY. unsure of this, but we have family that resided on Tusc Rez.
    I just want to say, after finally reading all I was utterly amazed, amazed at how strong the Bomberry dna is lol…what you describe of him, not only his handsome looks but how he was, acted etc can be used to describe so many of our Bomberry relatives.
    Thanx again & take care 🙂

  9. and thank you, Morgan MacKenzie for posting!! I loved what you said about Greg stepping up…this is definitely a Bomberry trait lol something we are known for, very protective of family and friends and not scared to take on anyone lol (i know i been in alot of fights standing up for friends against bullies lol) Take care

  10. Subonna Morgan MacKenzie says:

    Cris, I am not of the Native culture, but have cousins who are also descended from the Mohawk Nation and nieces and nephews decscended from the Tuscarora Nation. It was a privilege to post in Greg’s behalf as I considered him a great friend.

  11. Those of us who returned, carry an enquenchable guilt for having done so. All we can do to is reach back. “…The bell tolls fo thee.”
    Richard

  12. Pat Hartman says:

    Richard and his organization do amazing things for homeless Vietnam Vets and other homeless people, especially in Austin.

    Thanks for writing in, Richard.

  13. Marie Gage says:

    Thanks for this.

  14. Was thinking of my family that has passed on and came here to visit Greg and read about him again. I love this page. The only time I ever seen our Auntie cry (other than a funeral) was when I took her to see the wall and see was telling me stories about Greg and the last letter from Vietnam she got from him. May he rest in peace with my Dad, Auntie Wilma and Uncle Harry (Gregs father)

  15. Pat Hartman says:

    Hi Chris,
    Thank you so much for getting in touch. It’s so nice to know this tribute is recognized by someone else.
    If you come back to this page, I apologize for not getting your comment on here sooner. I couldn’t figure out how to access the comments and then it just got away from me.

  16. Pat Hartman says:

    This message is to explain why I haven’t updated Panel 45W Line 48 with corrections. The tribute was created in an early e-book format, so the pages you see here are just pictures of pages, and I can’t edit them. I hope to re-create the whole project in a better format and fix what needs fixing.

Leave a Reply

